Fakultas Farmasi


Faculty of Pharmacy, Gadjah Mada University (FP-GMU) was established by Indonesian Ministry of Health in 27 September 1946, named ‘Perguruan Tinggi Ahli Obat (PTAO)’, furthermore that date was determined as the anniversary day of FP-GMU. This college was combined with Medicine College, Dentistry College, Agriculture College, and Veterinary College. Prof. Dr. M. Sardjito was appointed as chief and was located in Tegalyoso General Hospital, Klaten. When rebellion of PKI Muso and The 2nd Dutch Military Aggression happened, the college was forced to terminate its academic activity on December 19th 1948. The lectures and students either jointed the army to wage warfare or jointed the Red Cross Team.

After Roem-Royen Agreement on May 7th 1949, there was a thought to reactivate the College. In May 20th 1949, there was a meeting of college committee held in Kepatihan Hall. Prof. Dr. M. Sardjito, as Chief of the College in Klaten, agreed to organize the planned college. he asked the college to be located in Yogyakarta. Because of the generosity of Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono IX, some assets of Kraton such as Mangkubumen may be used as the College’s building.

Owing to great assistance from The Vice President of Republic Indonesia (Drs. Moh. Hatta), Minister of Education, Study and Culture (Ki Mangun Sarkoro), Minister of Health (Dr. Soerono), Prof. Sutopo, Minister of Finance (Lukman Hakim), Ministers of Transportation and Public Works (Ir. Laoh and Ir. Sitompul), Ministers of Prosperity and Agriculture (I.J Kamiso and Sadjarwo SH) together with their Secretary General Mr. Hadi, Ir. Putuhena, and Ir. Goenoeng, This College was reopened in November 1st 1949. At that moment, Yogyakarta already has had a few colleges e.g. Technique College, Law College owned by The Balai Perguruan Tinggi Gadjah Mada Foundation. Each colleges was still coordinated by their related ministries. There was a concept to re-unite those colleges into a university which is coordinated by Ministry of Education, Learning and Culture (PP&K). The concept was implemented with an opening of Gadjah Mada State University (Universitas Negeri Gadjah Mada= UNGM) by the ministry of PP&K in December 19th 1949 (declared as the anniversary of Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta).

Meanwhile, Medicine College, Dentistry College and Pharmacy College are still coordinated by Ministry of Health. Using PP No. 37 year 1950 date August 14th 1950 signed by Mr. Assat as President of Indonesian Republic ad interim, Ki Mangun Sarkoro as Ministry of PP&K and KRT. E. Pringgodigdo as Ministry of Justice, The Indonesian government asserted that UNGM was coordinated by Ministry of PP&K. Furthermore, the term ‘Perguruan tinggi” was changed into ‘Fakultit’ i.e. Fakultit of Medicine, Fakultit of Dentistry and Fakultit of Pharmacy. In 1954, the government decided to make the terms uniform, i.e. ‘fakultit’ became ‘fakultas’ and ‘universitit’ became ‘universitas’. When The Private Foundation of Balai Gadjah Mada was closed, the word ‘Negeri’ in UNGM was eliminated and became as UGM.

In the promovendus level (level I), class activities of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy (FKKGF) were still joined, with the same teacher and different exam question. Later development, those joined faculties were separated into three different faculties. The first, Faculty of Pharmacy in December 19th 1955 based on SP of Minister of PP&K No. 53759/-Kab. The second, Faculty of Dentistry in December 29th 1960 based on SP of Minister of PP&K No. 1090741/UU. Although those faculties were separated, the academic activity was still held in the same building in Mangkubumen, therefore during that time, the students of three faculties were known as MAMACONGA (Masyarakat Mahasiswa Complex Ngasem).

Separated from FKKGF, Faculty of Pharmacy has not had permanent lecturer yet, therefore the administrators were taken by temporary lecturers. The first Dean was Prof. Drs. R. Sardjono (from Faculty of Medicine) and the secretary was Prof. Ir. Gembong Soetoto Tjitrosoepomo (from Faculty of Agriculture). Since 1963, the Faculty of Pharmacy has had permanent lecturer. In the early time, faculties of UGM were dispersed all over Yogyakarta; afterwards, Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono IX gave some lands in Bulaksumur, Sekip and Karangmalang area to be built. Later, the faculties were moved to new location gradually.

In 1968, part of Faculty of Pharmacy moved to Karangmalang along with Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine (Department of Pharmacology and Physiology), and part of Faculty of Culture. Since 1973, Faculty of Pharmacy has already occupied in Sekip Utara. Because Faculty of Pharmacy lacked lecturers who had pharmacist degree, the academic activities of doctoral level (the last level of undergraduate program) and pharmacist level were still being conducted in Semarang. Since 1977, all of the teaching and learning processes in Faculty of Pharmacy can be conducted in Yogyakarta in one location (Sekip Utara, Yogyakarta).

Vision Mision & Goals

To become an internationally recognized centre of excellence in pharmacy education

1. To produce graduates who are internationally excellence and professional in pharmacy services.
2. To involve the moral and ethics values in the teaching-learning process.

Faculty of Pharmacy, Gadjah Mada University aims to graduate students who are: religious, having a good integrity and self-creativity, having capability to scientific innovation in the pharmaceutical sciences, and having a skill in the pharmaceutical fields, as well as ability to develop and to improve community welfares and community health.


Faculty of Pharmacy GMU
Sekip Utara Yogyakarta 55281
Telp: (0274)543120
Fax : (0274)543120
Email : farmasi@ugm.ac.id